top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie Pusey

Life in Lockdown According to Ayomikun: A Time of School Closures, New Routines, & Self Improvement



The Prime Minister of England has declared lockdown everywhere in the United Kingdom. This is due to COVID - 19, famously known as the Coronavirus. This current pandemic has affected most countries of the world, especially LIC's (Low income countries). Even the world power houses: The United Kingdom and the United States have been greatly affected economically.


Be rest assured that after this pandemic passes us by, it will leave a mark on most countries. Currently, there are over 148 thousand confirmed cases of COVID - 19, and unfortunately, just over 20,000 deaths. To reduce the rate at which the virus is being contracted, the entire nation has been instructed to stay at home and should only go out for daily necessities and workouts.


This lockdown was declared on 23rd of May 2020 by Boris Johnson. This pandemic apparently started in a market in Wuhan, China. Over the last 4 - 5 months, it has spread rapidly around the globe. Countries around the world are desperate to find a vaccine for the virus. Countries like Italy and the United States of America have been affected most.


Since the national lockdown began, I've been at home with my sister, mother, aunties, and cousins. Luckily I haven't been too bored because I have good company. I've been away from school for just over a month. My school decided to close on Friday 13th March, 2020. On this particular day, our achievement coordinator came into our tutor room. We all greeted her sluggishly but she ignored our laziness. She said we could sit down and we descended hastily.


Not long after, she started giving a speech about how crucial education is at this stage of our lives. We were all puzzled and didn't know the reason for her visit. Suddenly, she said that after the next week of school we will no longer be able to come into school due to the pandemic. We all didn't know how to feel, but we all couldn't believe our luck. Friday 13th of any month is superstitiously believed to be a day of bad luck, but we couldn't believe our good luck.


After the pandemic, I have a few things I would like to do to improve myself academically, and completely as a person. Firstly, I would like to improve my geography and long writing. I would also like to improve my piano playing. To ensure that happens, I will be going to piano lessons with my cousin every Saturday after normal lessons. Finally, I would like to improve myself socially, and also improve my behaviour. Hopefully after this crisis is all over, I am a completely new person ready to take on the challenges the world has to offer.


Ayomikun Daniel

Year 8

Dukes Aldridge Academy, Tottenham

20 views0 comments
bottom of page